Blackbear Releases First Part of Upcoming Album

Photo Credit to Universal Music Canada Article by Adam Barrera

On August 21, 2020, 29-year-old singer/ songwriter Blackbear, signed to Interscope Records, will release his new album Everything Means Nothing. Until then, he decided to release 6 of the 12 songs on July 17.

The album will start with “Hot Girl Bummer,” the hit song Blackbear released in 2019. The song peaked at #11 on the Billboard Hot 100 and is certified 2x Platinum in the United States. In a Genius video, Blackbear said he wanted to make a song based off the viral catch phrase “hot girl summer” that Megan Thee Stallion created.

The second track off the album is another one Blackbear previously released, “Me & Ur Ghost.” The up-tempo song describes the struggles of moving on from an ended relationship. Ever since Blackbear released the song in January, it has received over 88 million Spotify streams.

“Queen of Broken Hearts” will be the third song on the album, and will also serve as Blackbear’s next radio single. The song discusses social media and its effects on mental health.

The next three tracks are all songs Blackbear released on July 17: “I Feel Bad,” “I Feel 2 Much,” and “I Felt That.” “I Feel Bad” and “I Felt That” include Blackbear’s signature up-tempo beats, while “I Feel 2 Much” is a slower track that Blackbear described as "emo."

The full-length album will also include collaborations with Lauv, Trevor Daniel, and producer Marshmello.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All